Has AI Changed Software Development?

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Has AI Changed Software Development?

• My employer blocks all AI, so we can't use it for anything.

On my own, at home, I've used both Bing Chat and ChatGPT to solve programming problems. Especially for something I've never used before, like some configuration of Git repos in GitHub. I've found it to be very useful in helping me to find what to do. I'll take the suggestion, very its efficacy, then make whatever necessary changes I must to the approach given, to make it work.

I'd say GenAI would be fantastic to use, as an assistant, in developing code. I only wish I could use it at work.

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• Rod at work wrote:

My employer blocks all AI, so we can't use it for anything.

On my own, at home, I've used both Bing Chat and ChatGPT to solve programming problems. Especially for something I've never used before, like some configuration of Git repos in GitHub. I've found it to be very useful in helping me to find what to do. I'll take the suggestion, very its efficacy, then make whatever necessary changes I must to the approach given, to make it work.

I'd say GenAI would be fantastic to use, as an assistant, in developing code. I only wish I could use it at work.

The company I work for has implemented ChatGPT 4 on its internal servers, actively promoting its usage among all employees. Given its deployment on company servers, there is also a strong encouragement to utilise it for code improvement without concerns about the security implications of pasting code onto the internet.

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• While I haven't used it for any technical work, I have used ChatGPT to help me write business cases and other project documents -- not in the sense of "do this for me," but in the sense of "this sentence isn't very good, how would you rewrite it?"

• Jonathan AC Roberts wrote: