Getting more involved in the SQL Community - Advice wanted

• For a while now I've been thinking about become more involved in the SQL Community.  I've been working with SQL since 2000 as what I'd call a Development DBA with an emphasis of working as a BI Architect recently.  I was recently laid off and figure this is a good time to get started as it'll help me keep my SQL up,  I've been encouraged by coworkers (now former) to blog.  I was also thinking of answering forum posts.

There are two hurdles I need to overcome, shyness and feeling intimated by the community intelligence out there.  I feel like anything I'm going to say has been done by someone else and done better.  I'm looking for advice as to how to overcoming these obstacles and where to best get started.

Thanks.

Tom

• Personally I found answering questions here really helpful. I'm not going to pretend I have anywhere near the level of expertise, or experience (I'm probably quite a few years younger than some of you guys (sorry!))  that the others here have, but I find answering questions really helps my skills. If I find a question that I don't know the answer to but think I might be able to with a little research, I go away and do the research. If I manage to find a solution, then I'll post it. If i don't, but want to know the answer, I'll subscribe to the topic and see what answers others give. Then I can learn from those instead.