getdate() not working?

• Hello everyone. I'm brand new to SQL and I've been asked to move a ASP/SQL website from one ISP to another. Using DTS I was able to make a copy of the DB and everything seems to be working.

Except for one thing. There's some shopping cart code that adds an item to the cart when it's run. When I try to run it on the new ISP, I get this error:

"Cannot insert the value NULL into column 'createdate', table 'sawbonesdb.sawbones2.prl_shopping_cart'; column does not allow nulls. INSERT fails. "

I did some digging and that column should be automatically filling itself with the current date because the default schema says (getdate()) for that row.

I'm wondering where I should start looking for an issue like this. Is there a way to install the getdate function if it's not already present? Am I barking up the wrong tree entirely? Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jon

• You are probably inserting null into the field rather than omitting it from the insert list and allowing it to default.

Cursors never.

DTS - only when needed and never to control.

Cursors never.

• Thanks for the response. I thought the same thing, but the code doesn't say anything about date. Plus, the it works on the old server. Here it is:

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@userid",adBigInt,adParamInput,,iUserID)

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@productid",adInteger,adParamInput,4, iProdID)

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@category",adVarChar,adParamInput,30,sCat)

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@qty",adInteger,adParamInput,4,iQty)

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@bUser",adChar,adParamInput,1,bUser)

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@retval",adInteger,adParamOutput)

I added a line for the date:

oCmd.Parameters.append oCmd.CreateParameter("@orderdate",adDBTimeStamp,adParamOutput,7)

And now I get an error that tells me there are "too many arguments specified."