Get version details of multiple SQL server's

• Hello All,

I have a task of querying up some 400+ SQL server and getting the Version details of the SQL server installed on the machines. Doing this manually would kill me 🙂

So I am thinking to Automate this procedure using PowerShell and the plan is

1. To create a function that will take the input parameter as the server/instance name and then create a connection with the input named SQL Server and then run the query : select @@version

2. Capture the output given out by the function into an array or else if possible into an excel file.

3. Create a loop using for or foreach and repeat the above steps till all servers are queried and the output data is saved.

I am pretty new to PowerShell so I need some ideas if this can be successful or else if I need to make any changes in the procedure. The script that I have got uptill now by reading out blogs, to connect to the server and get details is :

$SqlServer = $servername # $servername is the server/instance picked up from excel file

$SqlCatalog = "Master"

$SqlQuery = "select @@version"

$SqlConnection = New-Object System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection

$SqlConnection.ConnectionString = "Server = $SqlServer; Database = $SqlCatalog; Integrated Security = True"

$SqlCmd = New-Object System.Data.SqlClient.SqlCommand

$SqlCmd.CommandText = $SqlQuery

$SqlCmd.Connection = $SqlConnection

$SqlAdapter = New-Object System.Data.SqlClient.SqlDataAdapter

$SqlAdapter.SelectCommand = $SqlCmd

$DataSet = New-Object System.Data.DataSet

$SqlAdapter.Fill($DataSet)

$array=$dataset.tables[0]

$SqlConnection.Close()

Please feel free to provide any inputs that can be useful in terms of process flow or in script.

Thanks in advance

• In powershell you really don't exactly have to run the query against the server, since you have those properties available in different ways.