Formatting Reports - Every other row shaded?

• Hi All,

We are currently moving from Crystal Reports to SSRS 2005. Currently we have an expression to format the background colour of our details section of the report. It looks like this; if RecordNumber mod 2 =1 then color(220,220,220) else white.

How could I replicate this behaviour in SSRS 2005?

Thanks

• Add an expression to the row like this:

=IIf((RowNumber("table1") Mod 2), "lightblue", "blue")

Just replace the colours with thise you want.

Markus

[font="Verdana"]Markus Bohse[/font]

• I'm new at this, but I'm told the solution supplied above only works with ungrouped data. I've been supplied with a formula that's supposed to work with grouped data, but it doesn't. (I get a message about the TruePart of the statement.) Does anyone know if there is a solution to the alternate row shading question in grouped data?

Here are the two Iif statements that were supplied to us by a MS Partner consultant/trainer, neither of which work. He said he'd research it and get back to us several days ago. I haven't heard from him yet.

= IIF(RunningValue(Fields!Some_Field.Value, CountDistinct, "Group_Name") Mod 2, "Gainsboro", "White")

= IIF(RunningValue(Fields!Some_Field.Value, Count, "Group_Name") Mod 2, "Gainsboro", "White")

• Sorry can't test your version now, but my original formular works on grouped data as well.

All you have to do is in the layout window in VS apply the expression to the row which contains the grouped values.

[font="Verdana"]Markus Bohse[/font]

• I use the same code Markus posted all the time on grouped data without issue. The code you reference does the same thing but it works on the group level.

for example, Markus code does this:

GRP1

Detail1 (White)

Detail2 (Blue)

Detail3 (White)

GRP2

Detail1 (Blue)

Detail2 (White)

Detail3 (Blue)

GRP3

Detail1 (White)

Detail2 (Blue)

While your code would do this:

GRP1

Detail1 (White)

Detail2 (Blue)

Detail3 (White)

GRP2

Detail1 (White)