Finding Out When/How A Column Gets Updated ?

• Hello All! I am a SQL 2005 Newbie and I have a question that hopefully, someone will be able to assist me with.

I have a column in a table and I need to find out how/where that column gets updated within the database.

I have searched all of the source code of the application that uses the database and I do not see any instance where the column in question gets inserted/updated. That leads me to believe that the insert/update must be occurring somewhere in the DB.

So, I am looking for information on how to "find" such. I am sure there must be some type of script, function, view or tool that would allow me to search the contents of the database for this info. Can someone point me in the right direction on this ?

I am using Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio version 9.00.3042.00

Thanks!

Everett

• You may want to start off with running a Profiler session on the specific database. Open SQL Server Profiler, Create a new trace (File --> New Trace). Log in to the server on which the database in question resides. You will need to have sa access to the SQL instance you wish to monitor.

Leave the first tab at its defaults (the Standard template), and in the Events Selection tab, make sure RPC:Completed and SQL:BatchCompleted are checked. In the lower right-hand quadrant, check the "Show All Columns" check box, and scroll right to make sure the DatabaseName column is checked. You'll also want to ensure that other columns like LoginName, TextData, HostName, and ApplicationName are selected for all events you're capturing.