Feeling My Way Into SQL

• I am very new to SQL.  I have completed a Udemy introduction course and have some exposure via MS Access to SQL but not a lot.  I am really interested in any directions to a good learning resource as I think that is missing in my understanding somewhere.

Anyway, the issue I am stuck with is:

SELECT        dbo.StockDelivered.DeliveryDate, dbo.StockDelivered.Barcode, dbo.StockDelivered.Quantity, dbo.StockDelivered.WaterBodyID, dbo.StockDelivered.RegistrantEmail, ShtStock_1.PartNumber, ShtStock_1.Description, 
    dbo.Site.SiteName, dbo.WaterBody.WBName, dbo.NZ(dbo.StockLink.AssociatedID, ShtStock_1.ShtStockId) AS RID,
    (SELECT PartNumber
    FROM dbo.ShtStock
    WHERE (ShtStockId = dbo.NZ(dbo.StockLink.AssociatedID, ShtStock_1.ShtStockId))) AS Expr1
    FROM dbo.StockDelivered INNER JOIN
    dbo.WaterBody ON dbo.StockDelivered.WaterBodyID = dbo.WaterBody.WaterBodyID INNER JOIN
    dbo.Site ON dbo.WaterBody.SiteID = dbo.Site.SiteID LEFT OUTER JOIN
    dbo.StockLink ON dbo.StockDelivered.ShtStockId = dbo.StockLink.StockID LEFT OUTER JOIN
    dbo.ShtStock AS ShtStock_1 ON dbo.StockDelivered.ShtStockId = ShtStock_1.ShtStockId
    WHERE (dbo.StockDelivered.DeliveryDate >=
    (SELECT MAX(ChangeDate) AS ActChangeDate
    FROM dbo.MonthChange
    WHERE (MonthChangeID =
    (SELECT MAX(MonthChangeID - 1) AS Expr1
    FROM dbo.MonthChange AS MonthChange_1)))) AND (dbo.StockDelivered.DeliveryDate <
    (SELECT MAX(ChangeDate) AS ChangeDate
    FROM dbo.MonthChange AS MonthChange_2))

The problem here is specifically

(SELECT        PartNumber
    FROM dbo.ShtStock
    WHERE (ShtStockId = dbo.NZ(dbo.StockLink.AssociatedID, ShtStock_1.ShtStockId))) AS Expr1

In practical terms I am saying if there is an associatedID then use that to find the part number otherwise use the ShtStockID.

No matter how I configure this it is returning a null value when there is an associatedID.