Export to Excel - removing linked report hyperlinks

• I have a master report that has "Jump to report" (direct report with parameters) hyperlinks. Naturally, the hyperlink URL has all sorts of hidden parameters and credentials that are implemented by SSRS.

Everything works fine in the web browser. However, if I export the main report to Excel, the hyperlink detail (http://...), including the report server path, and ALL parameters are also exported behind the cells. Naturally, this is totally unacceptable due to the security issues.

However, an export to PDF doesn't export out the hyperlink URLs.

Does anyone know how to prevent the hyperlink URLs from being exported when exported to Excel (or any other format)?

[font="Arial Narrow"](PHB) I think we should build an SQL database. (Dilbert) What color do you want that database? (PHB) I think mauve has the most RAM.[/font]

• Hi

As far as I know there is no way to directly achieve this in SSRS2005 and I've not seen any enhancements to this effect in SSRS2008. The way I overcome the problems with exporting to excel normally is to add a boolean parameter that the user checks to say they want the excel version. This would then remove the URL's conditionally based on the parameter.

The problem here is that because your issue is one of security, this doesn't really cut it, because there is nothing to stop the user from selecting NO, then exporting it anyway.

If this report can be scheduled to run automatically then that's what I'd do, just remove it from any available lists for the user to run it, then schedule the report to run automatically to Excel.

Not much help I know, but maybe it'll save you some time looking for an answer.

Nigel West
    UK

• Can you post the expression you're using to conditionally turn off hyperlinks? Do you have to modify each Navigation node one at a time or can it be done on the report level?

• Nevermind, found the syntax...