ER/Studio and Oracle SQL Developer Data cannot reverse engineer 13 of 29 attached databases for clinical data warehouse/BI project

• I'm a database/BI/data warehouse architect but not a DBA...

I'm working on a data model for a federated clinical data warehouse that is fed by more than 29 SQL server databases containing more than 3800 tables capturing data from over 100 heterogeneous databases. There is no documentation, and very little "tribal history", so I'm on my own here.

Here's the problem: When I attempt to reverse-engineer this system with either ER/Studio or Oracle SQL Developer Data Modeler, I am successful at loading the table defs, domains and RI relationships into either product, but only for some of the databases. Neither product is able to access the metadata for 13 of the databases. The problem databases seem to have multiple users/security roles. These are copies of live databases, so I've set them all to simple logging, SQL Server 2000 compatibility, and read-only. There's nothing esoteric going on like replication etc. I did not rebuild indices. Removing all security is certainly an option, since this is a staging system meant to feed the data warehouse, and will never be accessed by end users.

I have the SA account/password, am able to fully access all objects and data in these these databases from MS SQL Server Management Studio, and have been able to export all data and XML formats from all tables and all databases using the BCP utility. I can import all the data into a newly-created database, even to a different RDBMS, if necessary. I am also able to generate DDL scripts to create these databases using the Right click on database -> choose Tasks -> choose Generate Scripts approach in MS SQL Server Management Studio.