Entering the dba field

• Hi,

Can I get some information about how to get a junior position in the field? I have 3 years experience working with Access databases and recently SAS, but no exposure to a large database program like SQL Server. (I'm working as a actuarial trainee.) I've got the books and software this month to study towards the MCDBA SQL Server 200 exams and have started on that, but I'm not sure it is enough. What else I could do to make myself marketable in this field?

Thanks,

Anna

• The MCDBA is a huge step and it shows that you have the drive to learn something. It's a lot of work though! It will give you most of the knowledge you need to start and most interviewers will know that. I'd start there. Most people that become DBAs are able to slide into the position because they have either a good developer or NT skillset. These are essential for some DBA groups, including mine, since you have to debug where the problem lies and point the finger back to the other guys.

Brian Knight

bknight@sqlservercentral.com

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/bknight

• I agree that achieving the MCDBA will help you attain a good set of core skills, but as Brian mentioned you will need more. Really it comes down to networking or programming - kinda whether to be an MCSE or MCSD. It's nice to know it ALL but it's pretty hard to do these days. I think programming makes more sense if you're just starting, since having good programming skills opens up the job possibilities, more likely to get hired as a developer with beginner/mid level skills than as a DBA or network admin.

Andy