Dynamic count of days between start and end in MDX

• Hi Guys!

Long time reader – first timer poster.

Hoping someone can aid me in some tricky MDX, seeing as I’m relatively new to the subject.

I’m working on a request from a customer, to calculate something they call “FullTimeActivity”.

When breaking it down it is a “simple” division between the number of days between an activity start and end [ActivityDays] and number of days in a selected period [CalenderDays].

Now comes the tricky part (in my opinion) – it must be dynamic.

Let me give an example:

1: The customer chooses time period (year, month or date) from the hierarchy in my Time dimension. In this case lets say a month March 2018.

2: The query must then count the number of calendar days in March 2018 – [CalenderDays]

3: Find all the activities that are ongoing in March 2018

4: Count the number days that are within the chosen time period (March 2018) of each found activity – although if the start date of the activity is after March 1st, it must count from the activity start date, and if the end date is before March 31st, it must count to the end date – [ActivityDays]

I’ve managed to count the [CalenderDays] using a Count function, that uses descendants.

I’m having some trouble with the [ActivityDays] though.

I’ve tried the DateDiff function and I’ve tried the Count function without any success.

Here is my Count query:

WITH

MEMBER [Measures].[ActivityDays_Count] AS

({LINKMEMBER([Startdate].[Year – Month - Day].Currentmember, [Time].[Year - Month - Day])} :

{LINKMEMBER([Enddate].[Year – Month - Day].Currentmember, [Time].[Year – Month - Day])}).COUNT

Here is my Datediff query:

MEMBER [Measures].[ActivityDays_Diff] AS

DATEDIFF('d',

{LINKMEMBER([Startdate].[Year – Month - Day].Currentmember, [Time].[Year - Month - Day])},

{LINKMEMBER([Enddate].[Year – Month - Day].Currentmember, [Time].[Year – Month - Day])})

The Startdate and Enddate dimensions are role-playing on the Time dimension.