Do's and Don'ts for "Parallelism"

• Hi Techies,

I am an ETL developer. Of course, everyday I will be working with millions and millons of rows from source to target. One of the key item I would be expecting for better performance is, "Query to use Parallelism". The reason is, my production server is configured with 128 CPU's and there will be an amazing execution time differences when ETL runs with the query that uses Parallelism and not using Parallelism.

From my previous thread, I have learnt "Not to use the Row_Level functions when expecting Parallelism". In my recent code, I am facing new situation where my code is not picking for parallelism.

Note: There is no Row_level_Function, No Views.

Sample code 1

-- Kind of Actual Code but Query is not Using parallelism

SELECT t1.Col1, t1.Col2, t3.Col3, t4.Col4

FROM table1 t1

JOIN table2 t2 On t1.Col1 = t2.Col1

JOIN table3 t3 On t2.Col2 = t3.Col1

JOIN table4 t4 On t3.Col3 = t4.Col1

JOIN table5 t5 On t4.Col4 = t5.Col1

WHERE t1.Col3 = @Variable

-- Just modified the select clause and the Query is Using "Parallelism" (Even though, I was not bothered abt o/p)

SELECT t1.* -- Just modified the select clause

FROM table1 t1

JOIN table3 t3 On t2.Col2 = t3.Col1

Sample code 2

-- Kind of Actual Code but Query is not Using parallelism

SELECT t1.*

FROM table1 t1

JOIN table3 t3 On t2.Col2 = t3.Col1 AND t1.Col2 = t3.Col3

-- Just removed the JOIN CONDN and the Query is Using "Parallelism" (Even though, I was not bothered abt o/p)

SELECT t1.* -- Removed additional Join Condn

FROM table1 t1

JOIN table3 t3 On t2.Col2 = t3.Col1 /*AND t1.Col2 = t3.Col3*/

I am very much curious to know about the reason for the situation!!!If all the above issues are related to any common factor and I am missing it.. Please give me a pointer for it.