Do we now need to be full developers?

• I initially got into the world of databases as I didnt enjoy hard core development - websites, javascript, asp.net etc just was not my thing

It feels however that we are more and more being pushed into semi-developer roles.

E.g. on my latest project, some functionality requires creation of azure functions. The MS documentation makes this seem trivial until I have to find the documentation to connect to Keyvault, connect to graph, use azure identity. suddenly a few functions that should have taken a week are now taking multiple weeks due to a huge amount of learning required, and the fact that i am not the worlds best coder.

I find im enjoying my job less and finding it much more stressful, every project has me feeling like a total noob, starting from scratch.

Is this just the way of the future, that the amount to learn has increased exponentially and most of us are going to be new a lot more things in new projects?

• I can't speak about becoming full developers but we're currently in the process of migrating to AWS.  As part of this, I've found myself building Windows Failover Clusters and working on the proof-of-concept for the Infrastructure-as-Code side of things. I had no idea about any of this when I started and it's been a steep learning curve for me.  I'm all for gaining broader experience but I've also been very vocal about it not being my job and somebody else really should be marking my homework.  I'm technically a Business Intelligence Analyst but actually more of a general SQL Server dogsbody, definitely not any form of Windows technician.