Distribution dB

• Hi guys,

I am new to replication and have been out here lately posting alot of questions. Thanks for all your help. I have another one:

Does the distribution dB get "cleaned" out with the sp_repldone sproc? My distribution database is really huge and I'm haveing a hard time managing it. Ordinarily I would shrink files and perhaps a variety of other things to manage my space. But I am unsure as to if this data is needed and the appropriate "way" to get the dB back down to manageable size. Please help.

Christine

Aurora

• It should be pretty much self maintaining. It will see quite a bit of activity, both in the mdf and in the log files. I typically let mine grow until it stabilizes, only shrink if its ballooned up due to a very large transaction. Transactions are cleaned up once they are posted, if you have a subscriber offline they will sit there until the subscription expires.

Andy

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/awarren/

• Yes that's what I thought, but...Well it appears that after very large transactions posted the dB, it has not "cleaned" itself. I would like to know if there is a (safe)way I can shrink the dB. Can I forcibly shrink .mdf files? Is it recommeded? Should I run sp_reattach? We are really pressed for disk space and need to do something quickly.

BTW, our Network Admin has ordered a server class machine to replace (what we have painfully learned) boxes that simply were subpar.

Thanks for your help.

Aurora

• Shrink db or shrinkfile should do it. If the data is still there (not cleaned out!) then shrinking isnt going to help. If more likely the data has been posted correctly, shrinking should free up some space. Check that your distribution clean up job is running also.

Andy

• Is the clean up job a system run process or custom? (I told you I was new to replication) In the meantime I will attempt shrinking the files. I think I already tried this and it did not work.

Chris

Aurora