Developing query to identify individual days and count them between dates

• Hello Team,

This is my first post here and I'm an SQL newbie so I hope this is appropriate.

I am using the following query to pull student data from a student information system into Filemaker Pro;

SELECT sch.name,tch.last_name,tch.first_name, students.student_number, students.last_name,students.first_name, cc.termid, cc.course_number, cc.section_number, cc.dateenrolled, cc.dateleft, cc.currentabsences

FROM ps.students students

JOIN ps.cc cc

ON students.id=cc.studentid

JOIN ps.TEACHERS tch

ON tch.ID=cc.teacherid

JOIN ps.Schools sch

ON sch.school_number=students.schoolid

WHERE termid >= '1800'

AND course_number='EDT'

OR course_number='PH'

This works fine, but I'm trying to figure out how this query could include a count of the number of M,T,W,TH,&F that occurred between "cc.dateenrolled" and "cc.dateleft".

Additionally the default "cc.dateleft" is the last day of school. So the query would have to evaluate whether the "cc.dateleft" is before the last day of school, or current date before counting the days between the dates.

Any ideas?

Let me know what you think.

- Sez

=====================
    No matter where you go
    There you are....

• there is a real good artical called "calculating work days"[/url] by Jeff Moden here on SQL Server Central that explains the concept and also has a function at the end of the article; I think it will do exactly what you are after.

i couldn't explain it here better than the article does, so your best off reading that.

HTH!

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Hi Sez,