Developer\DBA access to production DBs

• Our company has 2 project development teams. For the past several years each team has written front-ends in PowerBuilder and developed the corresponding back-ends (including stored procedures) on SQL (6.5/7). The developers know the “sa’ passwords for both development and production servers. They “have to” because if a production emergency arises they are the ones most knowledgeable about how to fix it.

Here’s the problem: the boss is now telling us that from a security perspective this approach is no longer acceptable. Developers should not have “sa”, or any access to production databases, especially those related to checks!

I’m a new DBA. I hardly know our databases. The database documentation IS the database. If I changed the “sa” password, and a production emergency arose, I don’t know that I could fix it in a timely manner (our developers probably could). Furthermore, the developers are concerned that if 1 person (say the DBA) is the only one with “sa” access to the production boxes then what happens while the DBA is on vacation? We don’t have 2 DBAs.

How would you address this situation?

Bill Salkin

• Bill,

Your boss is right and what a perfect opportunity to get control of what is going on in the databases. Normally you as the DBA have to force this issues causing emnity between you and the developers. This time you can actually place the blame on the boss. Just kidding.

Seriously though, you mentioned that you don't know the databases, well what a great opportunity to find out what is going on as you review their work and promote the developers work from test to production.