Developer Edition : Please explain ?

• I go this definition from the www

Developer Edition

With the Developer Edition, you can develop applications for SQL Server. You get all the features of the Enterprise Edition, but with a development license that prohibits you from deploying this edition in production.

..."prohibits you from deploying this edition in production"...

Say if i build my mdf database in SQL server developer edition, load data, test data, run queries. Then send the mdf and log file to a server that has enterprise version on it, install it, will it run ok. I assume I will get enterprise manager, query analyser, debugger, etc

Does production just mean more that one client accessing the mdf ( SQL server database).

I am a layman, so please explain, as I just purchased it...

• Say if i build my mdf database in SQL server developer edition, load data, test data, run queries. Then send the mdf and log file to a server that has enterprise version on it, install it, will it run ok

Yes!

Does production just mean more that one client accessing the mdf

As far as I understand it is production anything that is not development. So, given your above situation, once you've sent the mdf and the log to the other server this db is in production and shouldn't be run on that server under developer edition. This needs a "regular" license. No matter how many clients will access the db.

You might want to check this with http://www.microsoft.com/sql/howtobuy/default.asp

--
    Frank Kalis
    Microsoft SQL Server MVP
    Webmaster: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs
    My blog: http://www.insidesql.org/blogs/frankkalis/[/url]

• Just to add to what Frank's already stated:

Say if i build my mdf database in SQL server developer edition, load data, test data, run queries. Then send the mdf and log file to a server that has enterprise version on it, install it, will it run ok

>Yes, definitely, have done it many times.