Designing my first database

• I’m new to SQL. My current job duties include running some scripts and stored procedures in Management Studio that process lists of data provided by our clients. I understand what I’m doing (and not in any danger of blowing up the server), but not all of what’s happening in the procedures I’m running. So, I figured it was time to learn more about SQL and T-SQL and the best way to do that is to build a database of my own and ask questions, make mistakes and hopefully learn from them all without screwing up a production database at work (cause that would be bad).

So, as a personal database, I decided to make a database of information for an online game I play (City of Heroes if anyone is interested). The information in question is from their Invention system (creating enhancements for player powers) and it basically breaks down into two different categories, Salvage (the items you collect) and Recipes (the recipe together with the Salvage will give you the enhancement).

I’ve figured out how to store the Salvage. I have one main table of the salvage items with foreign keys to three other tables for different properties that the salvage has. For instance, there are three level tiers of salvage so one of the Salvage table foreign keys points to a table that lists the three tiers. I've uploaded a database diagram of those tables for those interested.

But, when it comes to the Recipes, I’m not sure what the best way to proceed is. Each recipe uses two to four (or maybe five, I haven’t verified that one yet) pieces of salvage. If it uses two pieces of salvage, the two pieces are not the same (but are of the same tier level). If there are three or more pieces, one of the pieces can be duplicated.

For Example:

Recipe 1

Salvage A Tier 1

Salvage B Tier 1

Recipe 2

Salvage C Tier 2

Salvage C Tier 2

Salvage D Tier 2

Now, the question I have is how to store this information?