Design of fact table/cube. One to many problem.

• Hi, I Need some help with my cube and how I should design the fact table and dimensions. I'm a beginner on OLAP/MDX so maybe it's a simple task I'm trying to do .... I've done some cubes that I access with MDX and return the result in an ASP application. The problem I have is how to handle records in the fact table that have a relation, a one to many relation, to a dimension. I'll try to explain with a simple example:

I have three tables in the database:

Customer:

CustomerID

SaleAmount

Active

CustomerGroups:

GroupID

Name

CustomersCustomerGroups:

CustomerID

CustomerGroupID

Table Customers consist of customer records with "measure" columns, this table is my "fact table". Table CustomerGroups consist of customer groups, CustomerGroup is a dimension. Table CustomersCustomerGroups consist of the relation between Customers and CustomerGroups, ie in this table a customer is connected to one or more groups. No dimension on this (maybe it should be that?).

When I do a cube of this, Customers will be the fact table, I have dimensions on CustomerGroups and Customers. I have included the table CustomersCustomerGroups in the cube and it's connected to table Customers (connection with CustomerID) and then I connect dimension CustomerGroups to the CustomersCustomerGroups table. My problem now is that this affects my result. If Customer 1 has a record in table Customers with SaleAmount 1000 AND belongs to two groups, ie two records in CustomersCustomerGroups, SaleAmount for Customer 1 will be 2000 if I browse my cube and that is not what I want, it should still be 1000. Just becasue that customer belongs to two groups he still has a sale amount of 1000.