Delta Changes

• I have a database which contains around 140 tables. Each contains an average record count of 1000. I will download flat files from mainframe which will be stored under the name of the corresponding table name as its file name. This flat files will have some changes like,

1. New records may be added.

2. one or more records may be deleted.

3. one or more records may be modified.

I want to reflect only these changes in my old table, rest of the records should be kept as it is. What shall i do now. It is a tedious job to delete all the records from the table and then loading this new flat file in to it. Some friends told me to use configuration table as i am new to SQL Server i do not have much knowledge in it.

Thanking in Advance,

Sarvan

• try to implement DTS package for pulling the records / editing or modifiying the records of the existing table in the databases. Or try to use SSIS for this kind of scenario. Better take help of some body who is good in sql for implementing this stuff.

• Hi thanks for your response. I first used SSIS package to export the flat file data in to the table and i have successfully implemented. But now i have some changes in those flat files which is newly downloaded so i have to reflect only those changes in the table. So i think we cannot use DTS or SSIS packages. In case if i am wrong correct me.

Sarvan.M

• In this case, better create a temp table so as to update the records as when the correction / modification is done to the source file. Then, dump the source to the destination initially to the temp table and ensure that the values appearing on the same table is correct/wrong. Then using DTS/SSIS move the REAL data to the main table. Since, you are saying oftenly the corrections has to be carried over to the source table, thats the reason I'm much more specific about temp table. This will work for your scenario.