Deadlock handling performance

• Though I can write quite complex SQL statements, I am a beginner with concepts like concurrency and deadlocks. I therefore wrote a small DotNet application that uses threads to perform simple updates on a 10 rows table until I was able to steadily produce deadlocks. I then wrote some try..catch statements so the faulty thread could retry and successfully commit its transaction.

The preliminary results I am getting amaze me. If I go single-thread (and therefore I do not get any deadlocks) then I am able to perform about 1000 transactions per second. Using two threads, I am down to about 100 transactions per second. Using 8 threads, I can barely perform one transaction per second.

Are those numbers expected? Is deadlock detection and resolution such a heavy process on SQL server? Am I missing something?

• This may bear correcting by someone more knowledgeable, but here's my understanding of your situation :-D.

First, were you using multiple threads for the update procedure on the application side, or on the SQL Server side? I'm not sure if doing so on the app side would have the same effect, but, from what I understand, multi-threading a relatively simple query in SQL Server tends to perform poorly.

This results from SQL Server having to distribute your query across the threads, run the query bits in the threads, and then reassemble the threads into your result; if the query you ran was simple, the parallelization actions will actually take longer than the query itself would, and in some cases, it increases the execution time by quite a bit!

In the meantime, the query will sit and wait, and potentially block other queries that are trying to act on the source data. This can certainly lead to deadlocking, especially when your other queries are behaving similarly.