DBCC INDEXDEFRAG vs. DBCC DBREINDEX

• Well, I need to learn how to properly 'defrag' a database. I took a copy of our production database, put it on a new SQL Server install (2000 SP4 here), and have been reading BoL til my eyes bleed.

I know this database in question is very fragemented. I ran DBCC showcontig and there are a lot of tables in here that need to be fixed.

Now, im very raw to SQL and have much to learn. I am still learning all the terminology and sometimes, I get confused because it seems like the lingo is almost interwoven. They look and sound the same. 

So, wasn't sure what I need to do here and was hoping to get some help. Which of these two do I need to do?

I appreciate it.

BTW, smilies are are awesome!!

-Jason

• There's no way to quickly tell you everything you probably should take into account with this, but I'll give it a go.

To defrag a table you rebuild or create (if one doesn't exist) the table's clustered index...  usually it's created on the primary key column(s).  The clustered index determines the sort order of the physical data.  Keep in mind that for tables which have a high number of inserts and updates you might need to specify a fillfactor with some room to grow... the same goes true for nonclustered indexes.

Rebuilding indexes can be done with DBCC DBREINDEX in 2000 (in 2005 you should use ALTER INDEX).  Defragging indexes can be done with DBCC INDEXDEFRAG (also ALTER INDEX in 2005).  In general a defrag is not as complete as a rebuild, however it usually goes much faster and does not require quite as aggressive locks on the underlying data structures.  Defragmentation is also fully logged so you may find your transaction logs bloating.

Also keep in mind that index operations can be fairly performance intensive (other than the locking issues).  I'd recommend doing any operations like this outside of peak usage times.

That's the short, short, short version.