DBA in Space

• So I am actually a developer not a DBA. I do a lot of DBA work. Anyway, my impression is that many DBA's are risk adverse. So I thought it would be interesting to see how many DBA's would actually want to go to space. Not in theory, but in fact want to physically go. Remember there are no guarantees. There is always risk.

• By the way, DBA is just a term, we're talking data professionals concerned with databases. From the rules:

If you’re a finalist we will need to confirm that you work with databases, though.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Grant Fritchey (10/19/2011)

By the way, DBA is just a term, we're talking data professionals concerned with databases. From the rules:

If you’re a finalist we will need to confirm that you work with databases, though.

I read that in the rules as well. Still I imagine that they would want a true Database Administrator, not just a database developer like me. Actually, I spend most of my time developing web sites, web services, windows apps etc. I do design and write all the database side as well. I am the defacto DBA at the small company I work for.

Anyway, thanks for the post.

• bkubicek (10/19/2011)

Grant Fritchey (10/19/2011)

By the way, DBA is just a term, we're talking data professionals concerned with databases. From the rules:

I read that in the rules as well. Still I imagine that they would want a true Database Administrator, not just a database developer like me. Actually, I spend most of my time developing web sites, web services, windows apps etc. I do design and write all the database side as well. I am the defacto DBA at the small company I work for.

Anyway, thanks for the post.

If I thought I might be qualified, I'd enter anyway. I can't play, which sucks.