db "dissappears" after sysUsers table Modification

• I'm afraid I effectively ruined a database with some ignorance about modifying system tables.  I probably need to start over but thought I'd ask here in case I can learn from this.

I had an account that somehow had "DBO" as its username.  This was causing problems removing or editing the permissions of this account. I am a wusiwug SQL administrator for the most part and was unable to get around this issue.  So I enabled directly editing the system tables and opened up the sysUsers table for this DB.  I changed the username from DBO to DBO2.  This change apparently broke the whole database.  Now when I try to access the DB Tables, I get "Invalid Object name 'dbo.sysobjects' and no tables are displayed.  What did I do?

Since it was so easy to create this situation, I'm hoping there might be a way out? 

Thanks,

Stephen

• I think the problem started when you got the "SIDS" out of sync between the master (syslogins) and database tables.  The user "sa" is mapped to dbo in each individual database. So, if sa has id# 123 in syslogins, and dbo has id# 456 in sysusers, this will cause the symptoms you describe.

Was this database restored from a different server? This usually causes problems such as this.

Try this, hope it helps.

Log on to the database server as a domain administrator.  Start Enterprise Manager, and make sure that the registration properties are set to "Windows Authentication", if they ae not, change the registration properties.

Get Enterprise manager started, and under "secuity", "logins" find the user sa.  Double click sa and try to give them access to the bad database.

If it works, you are good. 

But, you most likely will get errors.  If the error is "user already exists in database", then the sids are out of sync.

Query the syslogins table in master.

SELECT sid, name

FROM syslogins

where name = 'sa'

You should get the value of SID = 0X1 for sa.