Date and Time dimensions

• Hello;

I'm new to Dimensional Modeling.  I've been reading Ralph Kimball's book The Data Warehouse Toolkit.  In it he recommends creating separate Date and Time dimensions.  He explains that the Date dimension is the only dimension which could/should/can use a durable/natural key as the surrogate key since dates by, by definition, never change the "identity".  He also explains that a record should be added to the dimension to represent null dates coming from the data.  I've seen the date 9999-12-31 used for this date (the surrogate key would be 99991231).  This all makes sense to me. However I do have a few of questions about a row to represent NULL values and am seeking some advice

1. If the reason for the null can be determined i.e

1. The date is not applicable in context of a particular fact e.g. 9999-12-30
    2. The date has not yet occurred in the context of a particular fact e.g. 9999-12-29
    3. A plan date which is yet to be determined e.g. 9999-12-28
    4. There was a failure to capture the date e.g. 9999-12-27
    5. The date is unknown for an unknown reason e.g. 9999-12-31
      Is there merit in creating multiple "unknown date" records which more explicitly specify the reason the date is missing?
  • How do I "document" in the dimension that a "date" is not really a date but rather that is is a value which represents so that it shows up correctly in for BI products;
    1. A future date
    2. The date is not applicable
    3. The date was not captured
    4. A date that is truly unknown