Database Sizing Question

• Hi All,

Elementary question: Every book I've read on determining the size of a DB you're designing says the same thing: figure out how big your DB will be so you can specify this in the Create Database statement. BUT, a database constantly grows as new records are added, so, how big do I create the .mdf file over WHAT period of time? A year? I have a DB that will have roughly 40MB stuffed into it the first year of use. Adding 50% for indexes, do I create the DB initially with 60MB? Also, is there a good formula to decipher filegrowth, or do I just throw out 20% as a starting point?

I'm a bit of a newbie, so any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!

• File growth is something you need to track over time. You might try to build a tracking method using the output of any one or more of the following:

sp_helpdb,

DBCC SHOWFILESTATS

xp_getfiledetails

DBCC SQLPERF ( LOGSPACE )

or some other method of getting the actual file sizes of your databases.

-------------------------

Gregory Larsen, DBA

If you looking for SQL Server Examples check out my website at http://www.geocities.com/sqlserverexamples

Gregory A. Larsen, MVP

• Thanks Greg. Actually, I'm trying to determine how big to designate the database... it isn't created yet. If you would, please read my first post again. When documentation says "figure out how big your DB will be", do they imply over a year's time? This is the $64,000.00 question that I can't seem to get answered. Help!

• I'm not sure if there is a set timeframe to measure growth. I have not come accross one.

You mentioned it will grow to 60Mb with all your indexes. I'd set the Data file to 100Mb. Give yourself a bit of breathing space.