Database Encryption Keys

• I'm a developer rather than a DBA, so please excuse the straightforward question!

If I restore a database containing encrypted data (encryption using only a Database Master Key, by password) on a new instance, what do I need to do to preserve access to the encrypted data on the new instance?

1. Restore the Service Master Key (SMK) and Database Master Key (DMK) from the old instance, or
    2. Restore just the DMK from the old instance, or
    3. Recreate the DMK on the new instance, using the same password used to create it on the old instance, or
    4. something else?

Thanks for any input.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• I am 99% sure you just need to restore the database as the DMK will come across with it.  Once you do that, it depends on how you were accessing the data encrypted by the DMK.  If it was always decrypted when you went to use it, then you should just need to open the DMK, alter the DMK to add encryption by SMK, close the DMK.

If you needed to decrypt it every time you wanted to use it, (open master key with decryption by password='supersecretpassword' for example), then don't add the encryption by the SMK.

If you restore the service master key, then anything else that relies on the old SMK will break.  If you JUST restore the DMK without tying it to the SMK, you will need to run "OPEN MASTER KEY" prior to using it.  If you re-create the DMK on the new instance, all previously encrypted data may be lost.  There are ways to restore the DMK from a backup with a new password without data loss IF you can back it up to disk successfully (which you should be able to do if it is encrypted by the SMK, even if you don't know the DMK password).