Database Design Questions

• I'm very new to database design and I've been given the job of redesigning an existing database and then doing the data migration. The question I have is there anywhere with examples of how certain processes are modeled? Example in the old system they have a payments table each row holds information about every payment type possible ie check, credit card, cash as well as credit card information and the batch processing results of any credit card transactions. It seems to me that every payment type need to be in a seperate table linked back to the main payment record as well as the batch results from the Credit card process. Is there anywhere on the web with examples of how some of these common processes are modeled?

thank for any help

Randy

• Not that I know of. We have started something here (in alpha) that will allow people to post models and others to comment on them. We hope to build up a repository with some good design information people can use for themselves.

I'm not sure I understand your question, or am sure that it should be this way. In payment systems for orders, I have usually stored the common information in the same table. Then I have stored disparate informaiton in a child table, though I would be wary of using different types of tables. Will make queries very ugly.

If you post more informaiton about this particualar issue, I'm sure we can give you some ideas.

Steve Jones

steve@dkranch.net

• Thanks for the reply, this has to be one of the best boards I've seen.

Here is the problem. I have a payments table