Database design and FK relationships

• Many years ago, when I was an SQL newbie, I designed a database that I considered 'relational'. It was normalized as best as I could to 3NF. It had tables with primary keys and child tables with foreign keys. I did not, however, define those as FK relationships or constraints in the DB. All primary and foreign keys were indexed. RI was enforced through the program code, not the DB. I have been told that, since the relationships were not defined, that my database was not relational. Two questions:

1. Would you consider this DB to be a relational DB, albeit poorly designed?

2. Is there any performance gain (or loss) in defining FK relationships/constraints assuming all PKs/FKs are indexed? I realize there is a data consistency advantage, but I am asking about performance.

TIA

John

John Deupree

• Hi John

John Deupree (4/13/2009)

The database is relational but not of integrity 😉

2. Is there any performance gain (or loss) in defining FK relationships/constraints assuming all PKs/FKs are indexed? I realize there is a data consistency advantage, but I am asking about performance.

It costs a bit of performance because the FK entries will be validated by SQL Server to their parent tables. Anyway this price is much less than corrupt data.

Much more important thing you should consider before adding the FKs:

If your application was not enforced to handle those FKs you may run into problems depending on the applications data flow. If your application creates "Order" objects and "OrderPosition" objects in one step it doesn't matter since now if the "Order" or the "OrderPosition" objects was written as first. If you create the FKs and try to insert an "OrderPosition" since the "Order" is not yet available you will get an error. Maybe you have to swap some code blocks.

It is advisable to add the FKs but check if the application can handle it.

Hope this helps

Flo