Database Data File Physical Fragmentation From Small Auto-Growth Setting

• I've placed this post in the SS2005 Performance Tuning section of the forum because it was totally ignored in the 2012 section of the forum.

The server is SS2012.

To All,

I need some advice. I've just started a new job and one of the first problems I've encountered is that a 365 GB database has auto-grown 1 MB at a time since the day it was created.

3 years ago, the database was on direct attached storage. Then, it was moved to a Dell-Compellent SAN, a system for which I am a certified administrator. The database migration involved a database backup and a restore to the SAN which eliminated the physical fragmentation. But after that, it kept auto-growing in 1 MB increments. So, it probably has at least 100,000->200,000+ 1MB file fragments scattered all over multiple disk drives.

I am going to review the performance implications of this condition with Dell-Compellent.

In the meantime, I'd like to hear from any of the community on this forum:

1. If you've had this situation, how did you respond to it?

2. Is the potential for server performance degradation reduced if the database data file is on a SAN?

3. If I must take action to rectify this condition, what are my best options?

On the last question, I'm considering 3 options:

1. A full backup and restoration of the database:

1a. Backup the database.

1b. Take the database out of production.

1c. Delete the database.

1d. Recreate the database with appropriate initial and auto-growth settings.

1e. Restore the database.

1f. Reconnect the Login and User SIDs.

1g. Resume production.

2. Take a SAN based snapshot of the database and use it to replace the existing database. (I don't think this will produce the desired results and I'm going to review it with Dell-Compellent.)