Data conversion issue (downsizing the string length)

• hi guys,

I am trying to convert the string (length = 255) from flat file source to DT_STR (length = 100) for the destination db column (varchar(100) , null) using data conversion transformation but getting the following error message,

The data conversion for column "sAMAccountName" returned status value 4 and status text "Text was truncated or one or more characters had no match in the target code page.".

Is there any other way to do this? i guess derived column but i am not good with expressions

Can any one please help me with it ?

Sameer.

• You might try a derived column using SUBSTRING(yourvalue, 1 100) which will truncate to 100 chars, followed by your conversion to correct string type

Kind Regards, Will

• hi Will,

I tried using the expression,

(DT_STR, 100, 1252)SUBSTRING([sAMAccountName], 1, 100)

But it doesn't work. I am not familiar with the SSIS functions but the resultant string in this case is of same length 255. Can you help?

• Well, you could try

LTRIM([sAMAccountName], 100)

Followed by a Data Conversion Task to String

i.e. two separate tasks

Kind Regards, Will

• does it not just remove the spaces? according to the syntax i looked at

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms141781.aspx

LTRIM works only with the DT_WSTR data type. A character_expression argument that is a string literal or a data column with the DT_STR data type is implicitly cast to the DT_WSTR data type before LTRIM performs its operation.

Are you sure it will work? I can see that it will convert the DT_STR to DT_WSTR for which you said - use data conversion afterwards -

Being new to SSIS I have another question. Does converting the length from 255 to 100 only means removing the spaces? I am not sure wether its the right way or not. What if i want to downsize it to 20?