creating stored procedure

• hello,

i am a new and beginner in using sql server 2005 and creating a stored procedure. I have created a new procedure but i don't understand this. could someone give me an example on how to create a procedure using this code below.

CREATE PROCEDURE <'Procedure_Name, sysname, ProcedureName'>

-- Add the parameters for the stored procedure here

<@Param1, sysname, @p1> <'Datatype_For_Param1', , int> = <'Default_Value_For_Param1', , 0>,

<@Param2, sysname, @p2> <'Datatype_For_Param2', , int> = <'Default_Value_For_Param2', , 0>

AS

BEGIN

-- SET NOCOUNT ON added to prevent extra result sets from

-- interfering with SELECT statements.

SET NOCOUNT ON;

-- Insert statements for procedure here

SELECT <@Param1, sysname, @p1>, <@Param2, sysname, @p2>

END

GO

by the way, i just put the single quotation mark to display the data inside it.

hoping any response from you guys...

• I see you're using the templates.  Note that they are just samples, and there's plenty of room for you to modify them for your needs.  This stored procedure template sets up a basic procedure (that actually does nothing) with two input parameters. 

When using those templates, you fill in the "<@Param1, sysname, @p1> "  stuff by hitting [ctrl]+[shift]+M.  That will bring up a dialog box asking you for the procedure name (will default to "Procedure Name"), a name for the first parameter (defaults to "@p1"), its datatype (defaults to "int") and default value (default 0), the second parameter (default "@p2"), it's type (int), and default (0).

Click 'OK'  or 'Replace' and the odd text will be replaced with your entries.  You will then have a procedure stub ready for your code.  First, you can adjust the parameters - you can take one or both of them out, or add more, or change the datatypes, etc.  You can get rid of the SELECT statement.