Creating hierarchy's in BIDS 2008/Visual Studio 2008

• Hello,

I am new to Analysis services and I built my first cube. The project managers are able to access the cube using power pivot, and the load time is very fast. The only problem I have now is that they are asking me for drill down functionality within the cube. I used Visual Studio 2008 to build this cube. Does anyone know how I can do this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Dave

• Drill down functionality is setup on the Action Tab of the Cube. In BIDS/ Visual Studio, double click on the cube, then click on the Actions tab. Then click on the "New Drill Through Action" button. From there you can specific the drill through details you would like to display from the list of dimensions.

Also remember you have to enable drill down for the security roles that you setup.

• Drill down is the ability to expand the categories in a dimension by clicking on them or a symbol by them to expand a more detailed category. For example, clicking on a state might open that value to show the counties, the counties, cities, and the cities zip codes.

Do do this, you simply drag the items out in BIDS from the Attributes section to the Hierarchies and Levels section. It's easy. If that's not enough, then google Creating Heirachies in SSAS or something similar.

• Thank you all very much for your response. Let me try to explain exactly what I need:

I have the following dimension tables:

Agency

AdSales

MOwner

Client

MVendor

MParent

MType

Country

And only 1 fact table

Fact_Finance

The cube works fine and I am able to view it in power pivot and the SSAS browser but, I need to be able to define a hierarchy/drilldown within the analysis services cube that drills-down to the following diagram below. I am not even sure is this is possible within the cube:

Region -->

Country -->

Client -->

MType -->

MParent -->

MOwner -->

MVendor --X