Creating Db Tables with Foreach Loop

• Hello.. im a bit of a newbie with SSIS so please go easy!

I've set up a foreach loop to go through worksheets in a excel workbook and post them into a SQL Db table.

Problem is, I want each worksheet to go into their own db table, using the worksheet name as the table name. I assume I have to use a 'Execute SQL Task' component with a 'create table' statement but how to I use the variable used to create the loop in the SQL statement?

Any help greatly appreciated!

a.

• The name of the file will be stored in a variable that gets set in your Foreach Loop. Create a second variable that is a substringed version of that variable(to get rid of the file extension or at least replace the period with an underscore) within your create table statement in your Execute SQL Task.

• What you're saying makes perfect sense but I'm struggling to figure out how to do it!

How do you select a substring of the variable and what sql syntax do I use to call that variable into the query.

Thanks for your help so far!

• On the parameter mapping of your Execute SQL Task, you can specify variables that will be used in the task.

Just add your variable there, with direction input, the correct data type and as parametername choose 0.

In your Execute SQL task, add the following code:

DECLARE @myVariable NVARCHAR(50); --whatever data type you need of course

SET @myVariable = ?;-- here you assign the value of the variable declared in the parameter mapping

-- to the variable created in the SQL script.

-- The question mark serves as a placeholder. The parameters are assigned by ordinal position, starting with 0.

-- In other words, the first question mark will be replaced with the parameter with name 0.

Now you can use the SQL function SUBSTRING to edit your variable.

Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP