Create an import .sql file

• Hi,

I am writing a new web app.

As a test I create a local iis server and wrote it to access data from a access MDB file. I know wish to move it to my web hosting companies servers ready for launch. The host server doesnt support MDB file access so I have to use SQL server. Which is what i intended anyway.

What my question is, is how do I create a file I can import onto my hosts web server to re create all the tables in my access MDB.

I dont use anything but the tables, the data im not too fussed about taking across but would be a bonus.

I have limited SQL server experience. But have used in the past .sql files that basiclly create the tables and fields for me. Is it possible to pull this out of access! The web hosting company does provide an import facility so I figured tis possible....just how do i create the sql file??

Thanks in advance

Antony

Time to make a change
  • a Lot of your options depend on what kind of "import facility" your ISP offers.  You could for example if you have an ODBC datasource created to talk to your db, you could right click on your table in access and choose export, then choose ODBC databases() from the save as type drop down and follow the prompts.

Or if your ISP allows you access to your db via enterprise manager you could do the export from that side.

Also if you can manage your db from enterprise manager, I'd imagine that you'd be able to use the Access upsizing Wizard as well and just point it at your SQL server and specify the log in credentials and you'd be all set.

-Luke.

To help us help you read this[/url]For better help with performance problems please read this[/url]

• As Luke said, I would ask for some guidance from your ISP.  Many do not allow direct access to the SQL Server, but I would think that if you had access to your own SQL Server you could use the upsizing wizard to create the database there, and then send a backup file to the ISP for them to restore.

Dick

• Hi,