Core Count and Performance

• Hi everyone

I am in the process of upgrading my hardware.  I have been using this link for guidance

https://glennsqlperformance.com/2020/12/07/choosing-a-processor-for-sql-server/

I have a question about how the cores actually get used.  Does SQL Server automatically optimize the execution of a query based on number of cores?  Or do I have to do something so they get used?  I am new to all of this so I don't know if higher core count actually makes a difference for my needs.  I will using SQL Server for storing data and then running queries against it for getting reports.  I do not plan on using it for any sort of online business that requires tons of transactions to be processed in seconds.  The lowest one on Glenn's site is a 4 C Xeon.  Looks like it might do the job but not sure for sure.

Any guidance is much appreciated.

Thank you

• Hi,

you should take a look at this parameters:

Cost Threshold for Parallelism

Max Degree of Parallelism

With these parameters, you are able to tell the sql server, how many of your cpu the server should use for parallelism.

Good luck,

Andreas

• Another thing to note - parallel queries MAY not be what you actually want.  Depending on the query, it may not make sense for it to run in parallel.  I've had queries that result in self-blocking by going parallel.  What I mean is that a query that usually runs in 2 seconds takes 20 minutes because something went haywire and now each of those parallel threads are actually running in series as they need to wait for the previous one to complete!  The quick and easy fixes are:

1 - add NOLOCK hint <-- don't like this solution as it was dealing with financial data and dirty reads are bad

2 - add a MAXDOP hint of 1 <-- an OK solution, but it is really limiting as depending on the parameters of the query, sometimes parallelism was not a bad thing