Copying code

• I have a question that is up for debate here at work. I have been coding and working with SQL for more than 10 years. In all of this time, I have never searched the internet for code and copied it. I utilize the internet for research if I am faced with a particular problem that I don't know the answer to. But a co-worker of mine (and another at another software shop I worked for a couple of years ago), insists on going to the internet, copying other code (freeware, open source, whatever it is called) and then working that code to their needs.

To me this is a bit unethical and I feel better at the end of the day knowing that is my code and my product. My co-worker says that is a waste of company time.

Who is right? Am I wrong in thinking that copying code is unethical?

• There is an article by Brad McGehee at http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Editorial/66637/%5B/url%5D (Online T-SQL Scripts and Copyright) which discusses exactly the issue you're asking about.

You might find helpful answers in the article or in the discussion ( http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic700079-263-2.aspx%5B/url%5D).

From my personal point of view a person who's responsible for SQL code (especially in production environment)

has to know (or at least should know) how the code he/she implemented works and why it works the way it does.

Assuming this, the person in charge most probably would have come to the solution based on internet code snippets sooner or later by him/herself.

By using the internet the solution might be available faster (depending on how long it took to find it vs. write it on your own).

This would be benefitial for the company since you can get more stuff done than without the internet.

On the other side, 3rd party code (what I consider internet source code belongs to) takes more time to be checked and tested than the code written by yourself since you need to get familiar with it.