Converting Access Action Queries to Procedures and Views

• I am new to SQL Server environment and I have a bunch of databases that I have upsized from Access. I have lots and lots of Action queries and it will take me a very long time to rewrite all of them to procedures and views from scratch especially since I am new at this. Is there a tool or way to automatically convert these queries from Jet? I would appreciate any feedback I can get.

Thanks a bunch!

• Don't forget that it isn't just action queries that need to be converted to procs.  Select queries that accept parameters will also need conversion.

I seem to remember a package called ProcBlaster being useful in rapid development of stored procedures.

• The first time I used the wizard the most the queries became function queries and they did not work. I then opened Access and connected to the SQL server has a project. Then I cut and pasted my old queries into a new view or stored procedure. I found that some of my fields names were needed to be changed such as date and so on. From here I tested the view and stored procedure. Time consuming, but I learned a lot about SQL databases using queries that worked in Access and not In SQL.

Jim

• An alternative is to keep the Access database simply as your application front-end and use linked tables to point to the new SQL Server tables (that you imported from this same Access database)  and then there is no need to convert your Access queries, simply point to the linked tables.

• I would plan to convert the queries over time because Access can cause huge locking problems.

Someone on this site recommended using pass thru queries but that means converting your queries in any case.  If you are going to go the pass thru route then it is probably better to go the whole hog and convert to stored procedures in any case, even if you keep access as your front end.