Cluster SQL With Database stored on the local Drive

• Please be kind I am new to the DBA arena. That said I will go on with my question.

I am currently working on developing a cluser for our SQL to run on. Right now we have it on a dual 3.0ghz Xeon that is taking a beating. I am working with IBM to get the Blade Center (so if you have any advise on that as well like if you have had good or bad experinces with them let me know ) When talking to IBM sales reps (they will tell you that a 486  will run SQL)  they told me that you could run SQL clustered without a SAN. Well I have not been able to get this done. When I go to install SQL I get an error that says:

The installer has encountered an unexpected error. The error code is 2878. On the dialog ClusterGroupDlg the control DataPath has a possible value : C:\WINDOWS\cluster\Microsoft SQL Server\. This is an invalid or duplicate value.

I am running Windows 2003 Enterprise Edition and trying to install SQL 2005 (i have tried 2000 as well and get a similar error) I feel like it is because I do not have a SAN, the reason behind not using a SAN is this database will never grow to be huge it is just that there A LOT of people using it. Please Help a Beginner OUT!

Thanks in advance

Chris

• Clustering works by having disk storage that is attached to all of the nodes in a cluster. When a nodes running SQL Server fails, one of the other node takes control of the disk drives, starts up SQL Server and, hopefully, the users don't notice that anything has happened. The C drive is obviously local only to that node, and cannot therefore be used in a clustered environment. You don't need a SAN, but the hardware must be in Microsoft's list of supported hardware.

If you are having performance problems, then clustering is not the answer. Clustering is there to provide hardware resilience, not increased performance.