Central Management Servers - automated retrieval from registered servers

• Dear all,

I'm a DBA for several years no and never had the need to use CMS until now.

The SQL-environments have set up to use one CMS and this is pretty handy (but also tricky as well).

Exploring CMS I noticed that you can open a 'new query' from the group you declared - write or copy/past a query and execute it for all registered servers.

I just wonder if it is possible to write a stored procedure who collects data from the registered servers in CMS and store it in a table/database.

The reason is I like to know is that the SQL servers we use in our environment are completely shut-down for AD-HOC queries, there is no possible way to use OPENROWSET of OPENQUERY, the login-modus is set to DOMAIN-USERS only - so LINKEDSERVERs will not work because thye only work with a SQL-LOGIN (and this is not allowed) and IMPERSONATION within the configuration is not working either because the domain-user used is not recognised although it is present on the targetserver !!!!

So the only way to reach the other servers is bij using CMS bu tthis goes (standard) just on-way as far as I can tell now !!!!

Can someone shed a light on this?

Thanks in advance,

Guus Kramer

The Netherlands

• hi Guus

Utrecht here 🙂

Connection via CMS is the same connection as you do using sqlcmd, for example.

Servers registered in CMS are stored in two tables in msdb :

• dbo.sysmanagement_shared_registered_servers_internal
    • dbo.sysmanagement_shared_server_groups_internal

Link:

https://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertip/2397/sql-server-central-management-servers-system-tables/

Connection through linked servers is the same, however you have to use AD authentication (SQL logins are disabled, right?) and for that KERBEROS & SPNs should be configured properly.

So, in your case I see the following solution :  powershell script which reads above mentioned tables in msdb and connects to the needed SQLs in a cycle.

example: