Career in SQL

• Good day people, let me introduce myself. My name is Bill 43 years old from Montreal Canada. I have a GED diploma and worked many years in the hospitality industry. I had took a SQL course in college but had to abandon for personal reasons.

I am interested in completing the Microsoft SQL server certification. My question to all is will it lead me to a job in SQL? Do I need to learn anything else ? Am I over my head ?

Your input will be valuable to me.

• Hello!

Which certification were you thinking of doing? I'm currently studying for the MCSA and finding some parts overwhelming even with 5+years experience (albeit I started as an apprentice), I can't imagine doing it with no real-world experience/knowledge.

How advanced is your knowledge to date? Have you worked on any related projects since college or would you consider yourself as starting from square 1?

Also, what area are you specifically interested in? DBA, BI, development etc. Someone should be able to give you good advice based on this.

🙂

• Thanks for your reply, I have no hands on experience. I am starting new. I am planning to take MTA and MCSA SQL Server certifications

• As long as you use the certification as a way to learn, it could help you. However, most people won't hire you just by having a certification, you need to prove real knowledge. You'll need a lot of practice, so the first step is to get a Developer Edition for SQL Server and play with things. Try to solve problems from forums and practice the subjects that are going to be tested.

If you just intend to gain the certification with the minimal knowledge, don't even bother, people will be able to notice and you'll be rejected from most jobs.

As Master Yoda said: "Do or do not, there is no try".

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer:
    Are you seriously taking the advice and code from someone from the internet without testing it? Do you at least understand it? Or can it easily kill your server?