Career Advice

• hello folks,

I am posting this question with heavy heart. I have been a SQL server developer through out my career. I love it from all my heart. I love designing efficient database designs based on the business requirement of an existing/new application. I love playing with the data. Problem solving, bug fixing, performance tuning and optimization has been my forte.

However if there's one thing which in constant is "change". tech world is moving rapidly to new technologies. Even if companies are using same business model with same data load, they are moving to new technologies. This change, unfortunately, is killing/downgrading my skill set. My questions to all the experience senior people in this forum are these :-

1. What should be my career options going forward ?
    2. What skills should i learn ?
    3. what certifications to get credentials for those skills ?

I am really confused with tech moving so fast and because of my love for my skill set, i was caught off guarded.

Thanks,

sql enthusiastic

• Thanks for posting your issue and hopefully someone will answer soon.

This is an automated bump to increase visibility of your question.

• There is no one answer here. Personally, I have been pursuing knowledge of PostgreSQL in addition to SQL Server.

Why that and not something non-relational like MongoDB? Well, after studying a bit, it looks like quite a few of the non-relational engines are starting to plateau. While they solve a real need, that need is a little more niche than the needs that a relational engine solves, so the growth and adoption of these platforms is a bit more limited. That's not to say there's anything wrong with these technologies, there isn't. I just want to hit a broader swath of industries and relational does it.