Can SSRS make a stacked timeline?

• I'm an OK SSRS designer/developer. A user would like for me to design a SSRS report that would render some data in what he calls "a stacked timeline". Kind of like this:

CASE A                  1----2-----------3---4---5

CASE B                     1---2---------------------3------4---5

CASE C                        1—2-------------------------------3--4--5

Personally, I feel like PowerBI might be better suited for this, especially if he wants it "graphical", as he said in his email. But I don't know SSRS well enough to know if SSRS can do what he wants or not.

Can SSRS do that?

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• If the horizontal axis is the same time component and you're just looking at different series in your data, then yeah, I suppose any stacked bar chart would be that. You'd just have to make sure your data is organized to do that.

If you're talking about specifically lines with numbers separated by dashes, then no.

And sounds like this person needs to figure out what it is they are really looking to answer/actions to take with this graph and that will help you decide.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Please follow Best Practices For Posting On Forums to receive quicker and higher quality responses

• What do you mean by "a stacked timeline".

What is being stacked?

You can pad columns like this

=Space((RowNumber("DataSet1") - 1) * 4) & Fields!FieldName

Far away is close at hand in the images of elsewhere.
    Anon.

• I didn't know you could have bar charts in SSRS reports. Beyond my experience.

Oh, and BTW, I meant to say that I think we'll be using SSRS 2016, but it could be as old as 2012.