Calling a website...

• I am trying to create a job that will determine the round trip time from SQL to a website and back again. The website uses a database and I want to track the total response time periodically as well as alert when the time is outside a range.

I have never tried this before, but it must be possible. Anyone know how to do it?

Thanks

Raymond Laubert
    Exceptional DBA of 2009 Finalist
    MCT, MCDBA, MCITP:SQL 2005 Admin,
    MCSE, OCP:10g

• I can't think of a way to do this from within SQL but we've done similar stuff in our application from the client side. You can just have the script/application set a timestamp when it makes the call and when it gets a response then log that to either a file on the web server or the DB.

• There is no client app in this case, well there is but I don't have control over it, hence the desire to do this from SQL. It will be useful for several items, including alerts on website performance etc.

Raymond Laubert

• If the communication between website and SQL Server is done through procedures only (which I would assume/recommend/expect) then you could add a begin and end timestamp within your procedures and react based on the result (either store it in the db, send an alert or return it to the calling app).

Lutz
    A pessimist is an optimist with experience.

How to get fast answers to your question[/url]
    How to post performance related questions[/url]
    Links for Tally Table [/url] , Cross Tabs [/url] and Dynamic Cross Tabs [/url], Delimited Split Function[/url]

• You are looking for latence then forget the app layer... just ping it. 😉

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.