BULK INSERT from one database to another?

• I'm new to BULK INSERT but I need a better/faster way to extract several millions of rows of data from one db/table on server 'A' to a different db/table on server 'B'.

I run this operation today using a package in BIDS...it runs, but takes about 2.5 hours and there are a couple of checks/balances I need to integrate into the package that I'm not sure how to do in BIDS.

The main thing is I don't want all of the data from the table on server 'A', only certain columns.

Can I use BULK INSERT to do this via SSMS? Is there a different option via SSMS?

My issue is I want to schedule this as a daily job, but I need to check the status of the table on server 'A' to see if it has been updated for the day. There is a different table on server 'A' that houses the status of the table I need to copy over to server 'B'.

Probably something simple, but I'm not good enough in BIDS to do this kind of check, but I can do it in SSMS.

• BULK INSERT is only used to insert data from a file into a table.

When copying data between two sql server tables you could either use SSIS or you could use linked servers.

Try first setting up a linked server so you can access server A from server B, then you can simply run this on server B to create a table NewTable that is identical to the SourceTable on server A

SELECT *

INTO dbo.NewTable

FROM ServerA.DB.dbo.SourceTable

You can add any SQL processing you like - this is just a normal SQL query.

• Yeah, I've created tables that way before, but I'm currently inserting the records into an existing table.

Would a create table statement be markedly faster than an insert into?

• The main problem with INSERT INTO is that it creates a lot of log when inserting large amounts of data. SELECT INTO is minmally logged which means that it is faster and requires less log.

• Although this propbably does not apply to this particular exercise...

FYI,