Building or Buying Analytics

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Building or Buying Analytics

• I think this sentence sums it up "developers working with analysts can truly add value and insight to the information a business holds."

I've worked in the BI space for years, mostly on the business side.  But I'm a tech at heart. I now work for Calumo who provide BI solution software on SQL Server.  My experience is that Clients who have internal SQL Server resources who get engaged  have significantly richer analytics and BI reporting that drives the business.

It's the best of both worlds.

• I've never seen a successful implementation of Cognos, Power BI or Tableau without a BI Developer being heavily involved.  There are several reason for this but mostly because live data is designed to run a business system, not perform analytics, so we can't simply "plug" a BI tool into a production database (despite what the vendor says).

In every successful implementation I've seen, there has always been a large element of ETL beforehand. Even if the end users doesn't know it.