Binary Handlers

• Hello all:

I am fairly new to MSSQL features and functions. I have been working with Oracle for over 5 years. My newest project requires MSSQL so I am trying to right a solution for a client.

There are several function that exist as "Add-Ins" under "Analysis ToolPak" in Excel that do not exist in SQL Server.

There also does not seem to be any possiblity to create them in SQL Server as a user-defined function.

More specifically I am trying to extract from a hexadecimal source part of the its data.

Then convert the data to its binary root form and extract part of this data.

Then convert the binary into a decimal answer.

RAW HEX DATA:

D2:

0130323530333739343234310000ceae01420a5ab642b71562000000

E2:

=MID(D2,29,8)

RESULT:ceae0142

F2:

=MID(D2,37,8)

RESULT:0a5ab642

G2:

=CONCATENATE(MID(E2,7,2),MID(E2,5,2),MID(E2,3,2),MID(E2,1,2))

RESULT:4201aece

H2:

=CONCATENATE(MID(F2,7,2),MID(F2,5,2),MID(F2,3,2),MID(F2,1,2))

RESULT:42b65a0a

Problem Formulas:

I2:

=(IF(BIN2DEC(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,1,2),8),1,1))>0,-1,1))*2^(BIN2DEC(CONCATENATE(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,1,2),8),2,7),MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,3,2),8),1,1)))-127)*((BIN2DEC(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,3,2),8),2,7))*2^16+HEX2DEC(MID(H2,5,4)))/2^23+1)

RESULT:32.420708

J2:

=(IF(BIN2DEC(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,1,2),8),1,1))>0,-1,1))*2^(BIN2DEC(CONCATENATE(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,1,2),8),2,7),MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,3,2),8),1,1)))-127)*((BIN2DEC(MID(HEX2BIN(MID(H2,3,2),8),2,7))*2^16+HEX2DEC(MID(H2,5,4)))/2^23+1)

RESULT:91.175858

What I am looking for is the ability to convert from one base to another base numbering system freely.

You would think Microsoft would have already addressed this gap in programming between its own products.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Kevin McCullor

• First, create a Tally table... see the following URL for what it is and how it replaces some loops... take time to read it 'cause it's worth it 😉

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/TSQL/62867/