Bidirectional Failover on SQL Server Standard Edition

• Hi all, in what follows, please bear in mind that I'm just a humble developer ...

Imagine that you have two SQL Server Standard 2016 servers, A and B.

Now imagine that you have two SQL Server instances, 1 and 2.

Instance 1 exists on server A and instance 2 on server B.

Both instances run business-critical databases.

Is it possible to set things up such that Instance 1 on server A fails over to (secondary) instance 1 on server B in the event of an error on server A? And vice versa from server B to server A for instance 2?

What I think I am talking about here is a combination of
    * Windows Server Failover Clustering
    * 2 * Always On Failover Cluster Instances

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• We actually have that set up where I work.  Although we use a 3rd party tool called DxEnterprise (I do not work for them).  If you have used Polyserve before, it is very similar and does exactly what you are talking about there.  And I believe it is a lot cheaper than a windows enterprise license, which if i remember correctly is required for windows server failover clustering.

What DxEnterprise does is you would have 2 copies of it installed; one on A and one on B.  If it detects a SQL issue on A, it will (depending on your configuration) dismount the disk with your SQL files on it from A, attach the disk to B and start up 1 on B.  So B would host 1 and 2.  Depending on your configuration, you can even have it auto-fail back to A afterwards.  I use this when I do windows updates.  I still do them after-hours, but I can install a SQL update on B for instance 1, fail 1 from A to B, update 1 on A and fail it back. And do any reboots inbetween.