Better SQL is a Good Career Investment

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Better SQL is a Good Career Investment

• I 100% agree with this article.  At least I believe it was true in my case.  In my best position as a DBA, my first position with the company was called SQL Developer, from which I moved into the DBA team.  I was always impressed with the power and simplicity of SQL, and first joined the company specifically developing stored procedures for several very large VBA multiple application front-end  packages for a nation-wide dealer network.  My first focus was developing the stored procedures in tandem with the VBA developers and working on improvement and optimization of performance.  Efforts to minimize front-end data manipulation created the need for hundreds of stored procedures to be used on the remote dealer network of SQL Servers including large scale replication  processes including hourly and daily data movement.  Eventually the project evolved to having 5-6 full-time DBA's building and handling over 50 local and remote SQL Server instances.

Through this project I was constantly learning and improving my SQL skills at the same time as doing database design and server building.  I discovered that I enjoy SQL work much more than front-end coding, love the challenges of database design and data manipulation.  SQL Server has been my favorite flavor for years, and at 78 years old I am still honing my SQL for personal use and am constantly becoming more skilled in the built-in functions in SQL Server sql.

I found that database design was somewhat cyclical as projects came and went,  but the need for well-designed SQL was an ongoing challenge that I enjoyed.

• This reply was modified 2 years, 8 months ago by  skeleton567.

Rick
    Disaster Recovery = Backup ( Backup ( Your Backup ) )

• Congratulations skeleton567 on your seniority in programming! Have you worked on mainframes?