best way to send email from SQL Server 2000?

• Hello All,

I just took over administration of a SQL Server 2000 box and am trying to tidy up the security a bit on the machine.

The development team is currently using CDO to send emails from SQL Server (see: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;312839&sd=tech). My problem with this solution is that it uses the sp_OA OLE Automation stored procedures which require sysadmin privileges to work...which means I need to grant sysadmin to every application/person that needs to send emails!

It seems that there has to be a more secure way to handle this.

I looked into using SQL Mail (which I have no experience with) as an alternative but have run into all sorts of issues w/ the configuration. We use Lotus Notes in my shop and it is tough (almost impossible) to get SQL Server to play nice w/ Lotus Notes. I've read a couple of articles suggesting that SQL Mail occasionally hangs when its not using an Exchange Server for email.

Is it worth the trouble setting up SQL Mail w/ Lotus Notes? Are there any other alternatives to look at?

I'd appreciate any feedback!

Thanks!

John

• Go to http://www.sqldev.net/xp/xpsmtp.htm for a SQL Mail alternative.  I am using SQL Mail on several servers.  I haven't had problems getting it configured -- but then we are on Exchange.  But, I find that SQL Mail is not always reliable.  If the Exchange server goes down for maintenance, I sometimes have to reboot the SQL Server to get SQL Mail working again.

Aunt Kathi Data Platform MVP
    Author of Expert T-SQL Window Functions
    Simple-Talk Editor

• Hello,